Do's and Don'ts in Hong Kong


Do make use of the Octopus Card. Octopus card is an electronic fare card that can be used by most forms of public transport, fast food restaurants and shops in Hong Kong. It is the most convenient method for payment and hence no need to bring large amount of money and coins. You are suggested to buy an On-Loan Octopus which is refundable with HK$50 deposit during this short visiting period. You can get your Octopus card at the Hong Kong International Airport and MTR stations.

Do stand on the right when taking the elevator.People in Hong Kong get used to standing on the right when they take the elevator, so as to prevent blockage for passage and avoid bumping into people which may cause accidents.

Do allow more than enough time to travel. Traffic jam in Hong Kong is quite serious, especially during busy hours (8am-10am and 5pm-7pm). Therefore, it would be wise to leave the hotel earlier to your destination to avoid the traffic jam.

Do bring enough clothes. Weather in June in Hong Kong is hot and sunny. Yet, most indoor areas in Hong Kong are extremely cold, such as hotels and shopping malls. Therefore, it is good to bring a light jacket with you when you stay in an indoor area for a long period of time.

Do take care of your belongings. Hong Kong is one of the safest cities in the world. However, you should always take care of your personal belongings, including travel documents, cash and luggage especially when you are in a crowded place. You are suggested to keep your valuable belongings in a secured place like the hotel safe.

Do call 999 in case of any emergencies. 999 is Hong Kong Emergency phone number. In case of any emergencies situation, stay calm and call 999 to seek help. They are efficient and reliable.

Don't smoke in covered areas. Since 1 January 2007, statutory no smoking areas have been extended to cover the indoor areas of all restaurant premises, indoor workplaces, public indoor places, public transport facilities and university. No person shall smoke or carry a lighted cigarette; cigar or pipe in designated no smoking areas, or else will be liable to a fixed penalty of HK$1,500.

Don't forget to carry your passport and keep it with you at all times.



Organizers:

Public Opinion Programme, University of Hong Kong
World Association of Public Opinion Research

Co-organizers:

Fudan Media and Public Opinion Research Center, Fudan University (Mainland China)
Election Study Center, National Chengchi University (Taiwan)

Supporting Organizations:

Center for Deliberative Democracy, Stanford University (USA)
Macao Polling Research Association (Macau)
ERS e-Research & Solutions (Macau)
Chu Hai College of Higher Education (Hong Kong)
The Korean Association for Survey Research (Korea)
CVoter Foundation (India)

Corporate Sponsors:

NORC
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Nielsen
D3 Systems
Savantas Policy Institute

Contact Us:

在香港的注意事項


使用八達通咭 八達通咭是一種電子收費咭,能夠於香港大多數公共運輸系統,快餐店以及商店使用。它是付款的最方便方法,所以無需攜帶大量炒票和錢幣。在這個短時間的旅程中,我們建議你購買租用版八達通,港幣$50的按金可獲退還。你可於香港國際機場和港鐵站購買八達通咭。

乘電梯時站在右方香港人習慣於乘電梯時站在右方,以防止通道阻塞和避免與他人碰撞,引致意外。

準備多於充裕的時間作旅遊. 香港的交通擠塞問題頗嚴重,特別是於繁忙時段(早上8至10時以及下午5至7時)。所以,提早離開酒店前往你的目的地以避免遇上交通擠塞是明智的做法。

帶備足夠的衣服 香港的六月天氣炎熱,陽光猛烈。但是,香港大多數的室內地方均非常寒冷,如酒店和購物商場。因此,當你要逗留在室內地方一段長時間,最好是帶備一件薄外套。

小心保管你的個人物品 香港是全世界最安全的城市之一。不過,你應該時刻小心保管你的個人物品,包括旅遊證件,現金和行李,特別當你身處人多的地方。我們建議你放置貴重物品於安全的地方,如酒店的夾萬。

緊急事故時致電999 999是香港的緊急電話號碼。若果遇到任何緊急的情況,請保持冷靜並致電999尋求協助。援助的人員非常高效率及可靠。

不要在有蓋地方吸煙 自2007年1月1日起,法定禁煙區範圍已擴大至所有食肆 處所的室內地方、室內工作間、公眾場所內的室內地方、公共運輸設施以及大學。任何人不得於禁煙區內吸煙或者攜帶燃點著的香煙、雪茄或煙斗,違者定額罰款 港幣$1,500。

不要忘記隨身攜帶你的護照。



主辦單位:

香港大學民意研究計劃
世界民意研究學會

協辦單位:

復旦大學傳媒與輿情調查中心(中國大陸)
國立政治大學選舉研究中心(台灣)

支持機構:

史丹福大學慎思民主中心(美國)
澳門民意調查研究學會(澳門)
澳門易研網絡研究實驗室(澳門)
珠海學院(香港)
韓國調查研究協會 (韓國)
CVoter 基金會 (印度)

企業贊助:

NORC
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
尼爾森
D3 Systems
匯賢智庫

如有任何查詢,請聯絡︰