Winner of Elizabeth H. Nelson Prize (for the best paper presented at the annual conference by one or more persons from a society in transition) 2012:

Voting Advice Applications in Practice: Answers to some Key Questions from Turkey
Thomas Vitiello, Ali Çarkoğlu, Mert Moral
Sabanci University and Koç University, Turkey

Winner of Naomi C. Turner Prize (for the best paper presented by a graduate student at the annual conference) 2012:

What We See Online: A Forerunner or Echo of the Traditional Media Messages?
Yu Won Oh & Rebecca Yu
University of Michigan, USA

Outstanding Paper/Poster Presentation awards

With special thanks to CVoter Foundation for its generous sponsorship of two Outstanding Paper Presentation Awards and two Outstanding Poster Presentation Awards, we are now pleased to announce the winners of these awards. Please note that only one poster presentation is awarded after considering the absolute number of votes.

Outstanding Paper Presentation Awards

[IIB 3] Issue Development in a Mediated Society: The Endogenous Relationship Between Media and Publics on the Issue of European Integration by
Marijn van Klingeren, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Claes de Vreese, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hajo Boomgaarden, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Rens Vliegenthart, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands


[IIIC 3] Patterns of media use, conversation and perceived political polarization in 10 countries by
Hernando Rojas, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
JungHwan Yang, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Magdalena Wojcieszak, IE University, Spain
Sharon Coen, Canterbury Christ Church University, UK
Toril Aalberg, Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Norway
James Curran, University of London, UK
Shanto Iyengar, Stanford University, USA
Hayashi Kaori, University of Tokyo, Japan
Vinod Pavarala, University of Hyderabad, India
Gianpietro Mazzoleni, University of Milan, Italy
Stylianos Papathanassopoulos, National & Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
June Wong Rhee, Seoul National University, Korea
Stuart Soroka, McGill University, Canada

Outstanding Poster Presentation Award

[P03] The 1989 Chinese Student Movement as Signalized in Newsweek and Time: An Analysis of Symbols by
Jin Yang, University of Memphis, USA.

Congratulations to all award winners! You will receive our individual notification mail on the arrangement of the prize (US$150 cash) delivery shortly, please stay tuned.

WAPOR Helen Dinerman Award

The WAPOR Helen Dinerman Award is presented annually in memory of Helen Dinerman's scientific achievements over three decades of public opinion research. The award, given since 1981, honors particularly significant contributions to survey research methodology. This is a career award recognizing a lifetime of service to the profession and the discipline.

Recent winners include: Marta Lagos, Willem Saris and Robert Groves. Last year in Amsterdam, the award was presented to Maxwell McCombs and Donald Shaw for their lifetime contributions and achievements in the field.

Winner of 2012 Helen Dinerman Award:

Dr Hans Mathias Kepplinger
Professor emeritus at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany